Place of birth
Place of residence
National identity

Karen Lord

Short biography
Karen Lord, a Barbadian author and research consultant, is known for her debut novel Redemption in Indigo, which won the 2008 Frank Collymore Literary Award, the 2010 Carl Brandon Parallax Award, the 2011 William L. Crawford Award, the 2011 Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature and the 2012 Kitschies Golden Tentacle (Best Debut), and was longlisted for the 2011 Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature and nominated for the 2011 World Fantasy Award for Best Novel. Her second novel The Best of All Possible Worlds won the 2009 Frank Collymore Literary Award, the 2013 RT Book Reviews Reviewers’ Choice Awards for Best Science Fiction Novel, and was a finalist for the 2014 Locus Awards. Its sequel, The Galaxy Game, was published in January 2015.

Barbadian writer Karen Lord is the author of Redemption in Indigo (Frank Collymore Literary Award 2008, Carl Brandon Parallax Award 2010, William L. Crawford Award 2011, Mythopoeic Fantasy Award Adult Literature 2011, Kitschies Golden Tentacle Best Debut 2012), The Best of All Possible Worlds (Frank Collymore Literary Award 2009, RT Book Reviews Reviewers’ Choice Best Science Fiction Novel, 2013), and The Galaxy Game (January 2015).