News from Authors

#WATCH: Guyanese Love Poems (Moray House Trust)

The Moray House Trust's third annual recital of poems on the theme of love includes Martin Carter's "Letter 2" (written while he was imprisoned at Atkinson Field), as well as poems by Michael Aarons, Stephanie Bowry, Juanita Cox, Robert (Bobby) Fernandes, Keon Heywood, Lloyd Marshall, Ian McDonald and others. The recital lasts half an hour.

Read post

#WATCH: Brathwaite on Carter (Moray House Trust)

Moray House published readings from an essay by the late Kamau Brathwaite, entitled "Martin Carter's Poetry of the Negative Yes". In the essay, Brathwaite explores the metaphysical in Martin's poems. Brathwaite pays particular attention to the poems: "I am No Soldier", "With that Loan", "Bent", and "Ground Doves". These readings commemorate Martin Carter's birthday and form part of the Moray House Trust Samaan Tree Series.

Read post