Merle Collins named Orwell Prize finalist with Ocean Stirrings

Peepal Tree is pleased to share that Ocean Stirrings by Merle Collins has been named a finalist for the Orwell Prize for Political Fiction 2024. The finalists were announced at Charleston Festival in Sussex on Saturday 25 May, as part of an event on Orwell and his book 1984

The winner will be announced at the Orwell Prize ceremony on the evening of 27th June, at Conway Hall in Central London.

Read post

Kwame Dawes named Jamaica's poet laureate

Kwame Dawes, distinguished writer and Peepal Tree's Associate Poetry Editor, has been announced as the next Poet Laureate of Jamaica. He follows Mervyn Morris, Lorna Goodison and Olive Senior. The post lasts for three years and the laureate is charged with both developing poets and a love for poetry in Jamaica.

Read post

An introduction to the writing of Edgar Mittelholzer

Today, we republished Edgar Mittelholzer's autobiography, A Swarthy Boy: A Childhood in British Guiana. Mittelholzer wrote over 20 books in his lifetime, but until 2010, all of them had been out of print since the 1980s. Since we launched our Caribbean Modern Classics series, however, we have managed to bring six of Mittelholzer's most beloved books back to life, including one book of mostly unpublished work under our main imprint.

Read post

Hot off the press: A Swarthy Boy: A Childhood in British Guiana

Edgar Mittelholzer’s A Swarthy Boy: A Childhood in British Guiana (1963) is one of a small number of literary autobiographies by Caribbean writers, and, if strict genre criteria are applied, the first to be published. And even if the field of Caribbean autobiography is widened to extend beyond the literary, A Swarthy Boy still represents a pioneering venture. So, whilst he may well have found models in earlier British writing, as a Caribbean writer he began with almost a blank sheet.

Read post